Sonnet 116

William-Shakespeare - Jamal AY Abbas

This is my rendition of Sonnet 116 or Marriage of True Minds

The video clip is from Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Juliet.

 

I just saw a documentary on the OP – Old Pronunciation; i.e. pronunciation of English words during the time of Shakespeare. The experts mentioned that the ending couplet in Sonnet 116 does not rhyme. Indeed!
“If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.”
According to these experts, proved should be read as PROVD (short O) so it would rhyme with LOVD (also pronounced with short O).
Unfortunately, I’ve already recorded my reading of the sonnet. Well, next time, I’d know how to pronounce the words correctly.

Leave a Reply

